Lights and Lamps

I love festivals.

Albeit arbitrary dates celebrating occasions which may or may not have historical basis,they give you an opportunity to spend some time with your loved ones.

This rant has come forth due to the recent extravaganza of Diwali or Deepavali.

For the unawares-Deepawali is a festival held to commemorate the homecoming of Lord Rama,wife Sita and brother,Lakshman after their exile of 14 years. The entire town was decorated with lights and sweets were distributed by the villagers to celebrate the joy of seeing their beloved crown prince again.

So,coming back to the present, Diwali continues to be celebrated in the same way with lighting of lamps,sweets and prayers by people of all religions alike.

Children or even grown up adults in some cases burst firecrackers with beautiful visuals and too much noise.
Anyway coming back to me, I love how  Diwali looks and smells. I associate this fest with a bit of bite in the wind, and how the lights seem to trigger both the visual and olfactory senses. As soon as you enter the market, you can smell the blue and the red and the yellow, and it feels like a warm hug.

The diyas or earthen lamps are incredibly beautiful.I stopped bursting crackers years back and lighting diyas is my only joy on this day.

I cannot make rangolis (colorful drawings made through powder colors)-my mother and sister are the artists in the family and I don’t have a sweet tooth, but lighting lamps makes me feel as if I am adding light to the world.

And who can deny the need of that in the world we live in 🙂

Leave a Reply

