My top 5 romantic novel heroes

Romance.

Pink.

Love 🙂

I am not a romantic and romance is not my favourite genre in novels or movies
But then i am a young girl who  cannot help being impressed by The ‘Prince Charming’ sort of guy!

So here’s the list of my favorite romantic heroes.
The guys whom i would die for 😀

Mr. Knightley (George Knightley )

Jane Austen sure did know how to write her men and for me she hit bull’s eye with this absolutely wonderful man in her novel ‘Emma’.
Hes kind,smart and rich :D.But his best quality is his compassion.
The way he handles Emma’s immaturity in dealing with other people shows so much of moral fiber and strength.
Rich but not a snob.Hes a perfect example of how a girl expects her man to behave in society.
Hes head over heels for Emma but that never sidetracks him from seeing her faults and ticking her off!He goes out of his way to  correct the wrongs Emma does so she doesnt have to suffer for her immaturity.The kindness he shows to her friend Harriett really touched my heart.
But at the same time he manages to see the best in her and accept her for what she really is.Inspite of her being blind to her own feelings he steadily goes on loving her without expecting anything in return.Wanting her to remain happy.
And that for me is the ‘Perfect man’ 🙂
p.s:He also moved in her house for the sake of her father.I find that extremely sweet 😀

My dearest Emma, for that is what you always have been and you always will be, my most beloved Emma. I cannot make speeches. If I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more, but you know what I am. I have lectured you and scolded you and you have born it as no other woman would have
~Mr.Knightley to Emma Woodehouse in ‘Emma’. 

 Mr.Darcy aka Fitzwilliam Darcy

For many people I am sure this character from another Jane Austen classic ‘Pride and prejudice’ would be on top
The most overexposed Austen novel has the one of the most romantic heroes of all time.
Hes handsome.Hes rich.And he has tons of misplaced pride!
But then every girl dreams of reforming a rake and that is what our heroine Elizabeth Bennett is able to do!
His proposal to Elizabeth has to be one of the funniest proposals i have ever read about 🙂
Hes declaring his undying love for her and at the same time insulting her by reminding her of the huge social gap that exists between them.Really?Not the way to go about to win a girl!
But then when you begin to see how his arrogance covers his generous and loving nature by the way he behaves with his sister and housekeeper.And the way he goes out of his way to help  Elizabeth’s sister makes your heart just go mushy!

 You must know… surely, you must know it was all for you
… If, however, your feelings have changed, I will have to tell you: you have bewitched me, body and soul, and I love, I love, I love you. I never wish to be parted from you from this day on.
~
Mr Darcy to Elizabeth in Pride and Prejudice


Mr Rochester

‘Jane Eyre’ by Charlotte Bronte is my all time favourite book for the strong portayal of her female protagonist.But the book is incomplete without its equally strong hero of Edward Fairfax Rochester.Hes not the best guy around for sure.
Hes no Knightley in morals or Darcy in looks or etiquettes.Hes kind of a rough, ugly looking man who falls in love with his nanny and is ready to commit bigamy to get her.
But even then i dont know why i have always been so fascinated by him!
Possibly because his character is so strong.He puts up with a crazy wife and a mistress’s daughter just out of the kindness of his heart and sense of duty.
His morals do degrade after he falls in love with Jane but i couldn’t really find it in me to blame him for what he does.
Rising above his social status he is able to see Jane’s goodness and strong character.While all our heroes have fallen for beautiful women..He falls for an average looking girl and sees the beauty of her soul.
He is kind of sneaky about it ,confirming Jane’s feelings before confessing his own.But there is something in his bad boy character that makes you want him!
And well you do see his brave and kind heart as he jumps in the fire to save his mad wife who is responsible for his miseries.
They sure do not make it like him anymore 🙂

 Listen to me. Listen. I could bend you with my finger and my thumb. A mere reed you feel in my hands. But whatever I do with this cage, I cannot get at you, and it is your soul that I want. Why can’t you come of your own free will?
~Edward Rochester to Jane in ‘Jane Eyre’

Edward Cullen

i know so many twilight haters and Jacob lovers are gonna hate me for this but seriously i cannot help myself.

The only reason i was able to bear all the four twilight series novels by Stephenie Meyer was due to Edward!
One of my friends gave me the reason why she did not like him as being that he ws too utopian.
But i think the reason why i like him so much is because hes too utopian.Too perfect.
Hes selfless extremely generous loyal and absolutely madly crazily in love with his girl.Hes super smart,strong and extremely agile.
And the fact that he looks like a greek good and rides a silver volvo also sure does help his cause 😉
Why does a guy need to be a vampire to be like this?!:D
People see some stuff he does as downright creepy and honestly speaking in retrospective i cannot deny that.
But give the guy a break!
Hes a vegetarian vampire in love with a human girl whom hes ready to give up just for her happiness.
He surely does deserve some credit 🙂

  Before you, Bella, my life was like a moonless night. Very dark, but there were stars — points of light and reason… And then you shot across my sky like a meteor. Suddenly everything was on fire; there was brilliancy, there was beauty. When you were gone, when the meteor had fallen over the horizon, everything went black. Nothing had changed, but my eyes were blinded by the light. I couldn’t see the stars anymore. And there was no more reason for anything.
~ Edward Cullen to Bella in ‘New Moon’ 

  Noah calhoun 

  

This is one character everyone will associate with Ryan gosling in the movie ‘The Notebook’ i am sure!

But i think Nicholas sparks did a great job with this character in his book of the same name.
Noah is not your classic romantic hero.He doesn’t have money or great looks or anything extraordinary.
What he has is his charm and simplicity and that is how he manages to make heiress Allie fall in love with him.
The innocence of Noah’s love really makes you wonder about the ‘soul mate ‘concept!
He has long 14 years to get over her but he carries a flame for his summer love for  this long and manages to win her back 🙂
What Noah gives to Allie  is what every lover wants.Someone to grow old with them.

Someone who will find you the most beautiful woman in the world even after wrinkles cover your face .
Someone whose love will remain intact even after years of marriage and
who still look at you with those first eyes of love even if you dont recognise them 🙂

 I am no one special. Just a common man with common thoughts. I’ve led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but in one respect I’ve succeeded as gloriously as anyone who ever lived. I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul and for me that has always been enough.
~Noah in ‘The Notebook’
 

8 thoughts on “My top 5 romantic novel heroes

      1. You know what he could have in fact he even crossed my mind but i haven’t actually read the Bridget Jones series.Have just watched the movies.
        And i only wanted to write about book heroes and not the movie ones.
        I had a hard time thinking after my top three actually but well i am kind of fascinated by Cullen’s character so he made the list.

Leave a Reply

